About beer tasting…

Posted: August 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

Are we beer tasters?

No… we aren’t…yet… it truly takes a lot of time and practice to become a beer taster.  The ability to detect diacetyl, acetaldehyde, or whether or not a beer is skunked or not, in large doses is a relatively easy task.  However when it comes down to detecting the differeces between individual brews and batches is a true artform.  While I enjoy drinking beer, as well as analyzing why or why not I like it, I still am nowhere near the ability of our taste testers when it comes to detecting incredibly subtle differences between beers.  In one testing the tester next to me was able to detect the diffence of 2 ppm of diacetyl.  If anyone on youtube or beeradvocate still believes that they know more about beer than the people that I have been working next to these past few weeks…I just have one thing to say, delusion, while fun, will just lead to suffering in the end.

Comments
  1. mrnh says:

    I have been trying to find the beer “Brahma”, a brazilian beer….I was told Budweiser used to distribute it…do you know who distributes it now? Where can I find this beer? Where in California? Please feel free to email me with the info at mr_n_hernandez@yahoo.com

    thank you so much

Leave a comment